Annual Gala Celebrates ASCE's Past and Future

About 50 ASCE Oregon members and their guests participated in a very special event aboard the Crystal Dolphin.  The Annual Gala celebrates the success of the Oregon Section and recognizes the contributions of our members.  The Engineer of the Year awards were given out.  This year's Engineer of the Year is Larry Magura.  Government Engineer of the Year is Tova Peltz and Young Engineer of the Year is Nick Hatch.  We were honored to have ASCE President-Elect Kristina Swallow join us on this special occasion.  Ms. Swallow inducted the new officers.  Brand new to the board this year is Jerald Ramsden as Treasurer and Courtney Davis as Oregon Section President-Elect.  Members and guests enjoyed a nice dinner in the private setting aboard the boat.  David Sowers of WSDOT provided a special presentation on the high profile and impressive Alaskan Way Viaduct project.  Adding to this was the unique ambiance as the boat plied the Willamette River on a perfect September evening and such great company of fellow ASCE devotees accompanied by their significant others.