Oregon Section Annual Gala

September 20th, 2016 - The 2016 Annual Gala was a fun evening celebrating the dedication and achievement of Oregon Section members and a great kick off to the Section’s Program Year. 

About 50 people were in attendance to welcome the award recipients, listen to the guest presentation and support the officer induction. 

Michael Marasa, P.E., (Mike) a Senior Engineer with Hayward Baker provided an energetic presentation on the Sinkhole Remediation at the National Corvette Museum.  The attendees were filled with intrigue and humored with Mike’s explanation of the unique Karst geology of Kentucky, the stereotypical Corvette owner, the freaky event, aftermath, engineering approach and complete restoration. 

Prior to Mike’s presentation were the award ceremonies and induction of officers.  The commonality of this year’s awardees was their incredible dedication to the Oregon Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers. 

This exemplified by Ken Archibald, P.E., this year’s Government Engineer of the Year who has been continuously active starting at the branch level since in 1970 and advisor to the OSU Student Chapter since 1976. 

The Engineer of the Year went to Gene Tupper, P.E of GRI.  Gene has been involved with ASCE since her days at OSU, was Section President in 2009-10 and has been and continues to advocate for and support the Oregon Section. 

Jason Magalen, P.E., C.H. has supported the Oregon Section for a number of years and was the President in 2014.  He is an Ocean Engineer at HDR, Inc. 

This year’s Journalism Award went to Raychel O’Hare, a senior at PSU.  She has served many roles at the PSU Student Chapter including President and Committee Chair and also developed the student chapter’s website.

Oregon Section Past- President (1987) and ASCE Past- President (2013) Greg DiLoreto, P.E. performed the induction ceremony for the 2016-2017 ASCE Oregon Section officers. 

Current officers are:

  • Eric Destival, P.E., President
  • Mark Libby, P.E., Past President
  • Allison Pyrch, P.E., President-Elect
  • Tyler Pierce, P.E., Secretary
  • Chris Kasiewicz, P.E., Treasurer

Congratulations from all at the ASCE Oregon Section to…

  • 2016 Government Engineer of the Year - Ken Archibald, P.E.  – ODOT Retired
  • 2016 Engineer of the Year - Gene Tupper, P.E. – GRI
  • 2016 Young Engineer of the Year – Jason Magalen, P.E.  – HDR, Inc.
  • 2016 Journalism Award – Raychel O’Hare, PSU Studen